Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (December 30)

This was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine. Basically, these books haven't been released yet, but I can't wait for them.

Prophecy of Days by Christy Raedeke

PROPHECY OF DAYS, BOOK ONE: THE DAYKEEPER’S GRIMOIRE is the story of Caity Mac Fireland, a girl from San Francisco whose parents drag her to an isle off the coast of Scotland to manage some family property. Caity finds that a Mayan relic is concealed there, intentionally left centuries ago by Mayan Daykeepers in an attempt to keep their profound knowledge about the year 2012 alive into the current era.

As she delves into this world of secret knowledge, Caity is helped along by a visiting family friend and Feng Shui master, Uncle Li; a Mayan elder named Bolon; and Mr. Papers, her pet monkey that communicates through origami. A handsome Scottish lad gets pulled into the intrigue, as do several other people with questionable motives and loyalties. Caity must weave together a tapestry of information in order to make her radical discovery, a mystery protected by an elite coterie of power-brokers who influence world events. Caity’s twenty-first century mind is put to the test as she tries to uncover the answer to an ancient riddle while trying to outwit this powerful group that will stop at nothing to control the secret, and her.

Published by Flux
Release Date: May 1, 2010

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (December 29)

What is teaser tuesday?
It's a meme hosted by Should Be Reading and here are the
rules:
Grab your current read...

Open to a random page
Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on the page
Don't include spoilers

"He said, 'You are.'
'I'm not.'
'You are.'
'I'm not, and just repeating something doesn't make it an argument.'"

-Are These My Basoomas I See Before Me, Page 191, by Louise Rennison

Monday, December 28, 2009

Contest Reminder

This is just a reminder that my 200 followers contest closes this wednesday at 11:59 PM. There will now be three winners, and I've added an ARC of The Mark by Jen Nadol to the prize list.

You can enter here

Sunday, December 27, 2009

In My Mailbox (December 27)

In my mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren, who was inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Here are the books I got this week...

Holiday Gifts -
The Maze Runner by James Dashner
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. He has no recollection of his parents, his home, or how he got where he is. His memory is black. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade, a large expanse enclosed by stone walls. Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning, for as long as they could remember, the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night, they’ve closed tight. Every thirty days a new boy is delivered in the lift. And no one wants to be stuck in the maze after dark. The Gladers were expecting Thomas’s arrival. But the next day, a girl springs up—the first girl ever to arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers. The Gladers have always been convinced that if they can solve the maze that surrounds the Glade, they might be able to find their way home . . . wherever that may be. But it’s looking more and more as if the maze is unsolvable. And something about the girl’s arrival is starting to make Thomas feel different. Something is telling him that he just might have some answers—if he can only find a way to retrieve the dark secrets locked within his own mind.

Coffeehouse Angel by Suzanne Selfors
From the author of Saving Juliet comes a romantic comedy that is good to the last drop. When Katrina spots a homeless guy sleeping in the alley behind her grandmother’s coffee shop, she decides to leave him a cup of coffee, a bag of chocolate-covered coffee beans, and some pastries to tide him over. Little does she know that this random act of kindness is about to turn her life upside down. Because this adorable vagrant, Malcolm, is really a guardian angel on a break between missions. And he won’t leave until he can reward Katrina’s selflessness by fulfilling her deepest desire. Now if only she could decide what that might be . . .


Reign or Shine (Demon Princess 1) by Michelle Rowen
As if trying to fit in at a new school isn't stressful enough, sixteen-year-old Nikki Donovan just found out that her long-lost father is, in fact, the demon king of the Shadowlands—the world that separates and protects us from the Underworld. When she is brought there by the mysterious—and surprisingly cute—messenger Michael, she learns that her father is dying, and he wants her to assume the throne. To complicate matters, a war is brewing between the Shadowlands and the Underworld, her half-demon qualities are manifesting, and her growing feelings for Michael are completely forbidden. Ruling a kingdom, navigating a secret crush, and still making it home by curfew—what's a teenage demon princess to do?

The Espressologist by Kristina Springer

What’s your drink of choice? Is it a small pumpkin spice latte? Then you’re lots of fun and a bit sassy. Or a medium americano? You prefer simplicity in life. Or perhaps it’s a small decaf soy sugar-free hazelnut caffe latte? Some might call you a yuppie. Seventeen-year-old barista Jane Turner has this theory that you can tell a lot about a person by their regular coffee drink. She scribbles it all down in a notebook and calls it Espressology. So it’s not a totally crazy idea when Jane starts hooking up some of her friends based on their coffee orders. Like her best friend, Em, a medium hot chocolate, and Cam, a toffee nut latte. But when her boss, Derek, gets wind of Jane’s Espressology, he makes it an in-store holiday promotion, promising customers their perfect matches for the price of their favorite coffee. Things are going better than Derek could ever have hoped, so why is Jane so freaked out? Does it have anything to do with Em dating Cam? She’s the one who set them up! She should be happy for them, right? With overtones of Jane Austen’s Emma and brimming with humor and heart, this sweet, frothy debut will be savored by readers.

Beautiful Creatures
by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
There were no surprises in Gatlin County. We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere. At least, that's what I thought. Turns out, I couldn't have been more wrong. There was a curse. There was a girl. And in the end, there was a grave. Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever. Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them. In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Daddy's Little Angel (Bedeviled 1) by Shani Petroff
“Mom always said my dad is the devil. I never knew she meant it literally!”

All Angel’s father (a.k.a. the Devil) wants is to be a part of her life. And in return he has the power to give her anything she wants—including popularity and a date with her long-time crush, Cole Daniels. But Angel will only accept him on her terms: get out of the devil business and leave his special powers out of the equation. Is Angel condemning herself to an eternity of lunch at the losers’ table? Or can she and Daddy Dearest strike some kind of deal?

Storm Glass by Maria V Snyder
As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it's time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs, killing their most powerful magicians. The Stormdancers—particularly the mysterious and mercurial Kade—require Opal's unique talents to prevent it happening again. But when the mission goes awry, Opal must tap in to a new kind of magic as stunningly potent as it is frightening. And the further she delves into the intrigue behind the glass and magic, the more distorted things appear. With lives hanging in the balance—including her own—Opal must control powers she hadn't known she possessed…powers that might lead to disaster beyond anything she's ever known.

Little Brother
by Cory Doctorow
Marcus, a.k.a w1n5t0n, is only seventeen years old, but he figures he already knows how the system works, and how to work the system. Smart, fast, and wise to the ways of the networked world, he has no trouble outwitting his high school's intrusive but clumsy surveillance systems. But his whole world changes when he and his friends find themselves caught in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco. In the wrong place at the wrong time, Marcus and his crew are apprehended by the Department of Homeland Security and whisked away to a secret prison where they are mercilessly interrogated for days. When the DHS finally releases them, Marcus discovers that his city has become a police state where every citizen is treated like a potential terrorist. He knows that no one will believe his story, which leaves him only one option: to take down the DHS himself.

Intertwined by Gena Showalter
There’s something about the new guy at Crossroads High . . . Most sixteen-year-olds have friends. Aden Stone has four human souls living inside him: One can time-travel. One can raise the dead. One can tell the future. And one can possess another human. With no other family and a life spent in and out of institutions, Aden and the souls have become friends. But now, they’re causing him all kinds of trouble. Like, he’ll blink and suddenly he’s a younger Aden, reliving the past. One wrong move, and he’ll change the future. Or, he’ll walk past a total stranger and know how and when she’s going to die. He’s so over it. All he wants is peace. And then he meets a girl who quiets the voices. Well, for as long as he’s with her. Why? Mary Ann Gray is his total opposite. He’s a loner; she has friends. He doesn’t care what anyone thinks; she tries to make everyone happy. And while he attracts the paranormal, she repels it. For her sake, he should stay away. But it’s too late. . . Somehow, they share an inexplicable bond of friendship. A bond about to be tested by a werewolf shape-shifter who wants Mary Ann for his own and a vampire princess Aden can’t resist. Two romances, both forbidden. . . doomed. Still, the four will enter a dark underworld of intrigue and danger. . . but not everyone will come out alive. . .

Captivate (Need 2) by Carrie Jones
(ARC Edition, Published by Bloomsbury USA, Release Date: January 5, 2010)
Zara and her friends knew they hadn't solved the pixie problem for good. Far from it. The king's needs grow deeper every day he's stuck in captivity, while his control over his people gets weaker. It's made him vulnerable. And now there's a new king in town.

A turf war is imminent, since the new pixie king, Astley, is moving in quickly. Nick nearly killed him in the woods on day one, but Zara came to his rescue. Astley swears that he and Zara are destined to be together, that he's one of the good guys. Nick isn't buying it, though Zara isn't as sure -- despite herself, she wants to trust the new king. But it's a lot more than her relationship with Nick that is at stake. It's her life -- and his.

Friday, December 25, 2009

Happy Holidays


Happy Holidays!


I'll be taking a few days to spend time with family, so I won't be blogging all that much. Hopefully everyone has a great weekend.

Thursday, December 24, 2009

Book Review: The Mark by Jen Nadol

*Note that this is a review of the ARC edition, some of the plot/quotes/etc are subject to change

Cassandra Renfield has always seen the mark—a glow around certain people reminiscent of candlelight. But the one time she mentioned it, it was dismissed as a trick of the light. Until the day she watches a man awash in the mark die. After searching her memories, Cassie realizes she can see a person’s imminent death. Not how or where, only when: today.

Armed with a vague understanding of the light, Cassie begins to explore her “gift,” seeking those marked for death and probing the line between decision and destiny. Though she’s careful to hide her secret—even from her new philosophy-obsessed boyfriend—with each impending death comes the temptation to test fate. But so many questions remain. How does the mark work? Why is she the only one who sees it? And finally, the most important of all: If you know today is someone’s last, should you tell them?

When I first read the synopsis of The Mark, I knew I was going to enjoy it. I love all things supernatural, and the plot sounded completely unique. Of course, I've read plenty of supernatural stories, so finding one that sounded new was extremely exciting.

Cassie's left on her own after her grandmother passes away. Of course, the situation is even worse because Cassie saw the mark around her grandmother, and was unable to do anything to stop it. Cassie's then sent to live with her career-drive aunt, Drea, who only returns home to sleep. While most people would become even more withdrawn without any meaningful human interaction, Cassie believes that it may have been her grandmother's way of ensuring that Cassie is able to care for herself.

After lounging for a week, Cassie decides to apply for a job at a coffee shop in town. It's here that she meets Lucas, a student at the local college. I really liked Cassie, which may be why I wanted her to end her relationship with Lucas after he found out about her ability. Once he finally starteed to believe her, he pushed her to meddle with fate (he called it her "duty"), and this had dire consequences. He seemed to become obsessed with her ability, telling her to call him if she see's the mark, and encourages her to spend time in the crowded areas. He even uses her situation as a hypothetical question for the philosophy class that he's TAing (Cassie is enrolled in the course as an audit student). I felt like the relationship became less about Cassie and Lucas, and more about Cassie's power.

The thing that I most enjoyed about this book was how it dealt with the idea of fate, death, and the afterlife. This was the rare type of book that used those ideas without making me feel like those ideas were being forced upon me. I do wish, however, that it had been longer. The length of the book didn't detract from the story, and it didn't feel rushed, but I wanted to know more about Cassie's history. So, now I'll just have to hope for a sequel.

I'll definitely be looking forward to more from Nadol.

The Mark
By Jen Nadol
Published by Bloomsbury USA
240 Pages
Release Date: January 19, 2010
Rating: A-

You can check out the author's site here: http://www.jennadolbooks.com/

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (December 23)

This was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine. Basically, these are books that haven't been released yet, but that I can't wait for.

Captivate by Carrie Jones

Zara and her friends knew they hadn't solved the pixie problem for good. Far from it. The king's needs grow deeper every day he's stuck in captivity, while his control over his people gets weaker. It's made him vulnerable. And now there's a new king in town.

A turf war is imminent, since the new pixie king, Astley, is moving in quickly. Nick nearly killed him in the woods on day one, but Zara came to his rescue. Astley swears that he and Zara are destined to be together, that he's one of the good guys. Nick isn't buying it, though Zara isn't as sure -- despite herself, she wants to trust the new king. But it's a lot more than her relationship with Nick that is at stake. It's her life -- and his.

Release Date: January 5, 2010
Published by Bloomsbury USA

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (December 22)

What is teaser tuesday?
It's a meme hosted by Should Be Reading and here are the
rules:
Grab your current read...

Open to a random page
Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on the page
Don't include spoilers

"The voice inside your head just keeps saying, I can't believe it. I can't believe it, even though the evidence is right there."

-The Cupcake Queen, page 35, by Heather Hepler


Sunday, December 20, 2009

In My Mailbox (December 20) & Contest Update

In my mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren, who was inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Here are the books I got this week...

Breathing by Cheryl Renee Herbsman (Part of 1 ARC Tours)


Savannah would be happy to spend the summer in her coastal Carolina town working at the library and lying in a hammock reading her beloved romance novels. But then she meets Jackson. Once they lock eyes, she’s convinced he’s the one—her true love, her soul mate, a boy different from all the rest. And at first it looks like Savannah is right. Jackson abides by her mama’s strict rules, and stays by her side during a hospitalization for severe asthma, which Savannah becomes convinced is only improving because Jackson is there. But when he’s called away to help his family—and seems uncertain about returning—Savannah has to learn to breathe on her own, both literally and figuratively.


Magic Under Glass by Jaclyn Dolamore
(ARC edition, Release Date: December 22, 2009, Published by Bloomsbury USA)


Nimira is a music-hall performer forced to dance for pennies to an audience of leering drunks. When wealthy sorcerer Hollin Parry hires her to do a special act - singing accompaniment to an exquisite piano-playing automaton, Nimira believes it is the start of a new life. In Parry's world, however, buried secrets stir. Unsettling below-stairs rumours abound about ghosts, a mad woman roaming the halls, and of Parry's involvement in a gang of ruthless sorcerers who torture fairies for sport. When Nimira discovers the spirit of a dashing young fairy gentleman is trapped inside the automaton's stiff limbs, waiting for someone to break the curse and set him free, the two fall in love. But it is a love set against a dreadful race against time to save the entire fairy realm, which is in mortal peril.



200 follower contest update: I've hit 225 followers, so I'll be adding another winner! So don't forget to enter here!

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Book Trailers!

I don't think I've ever actually posted any book trailers, but I actually enjoy them. I think that they build anticipation for books, and I really appreciate those made by readers (my video creation skills don't go beyond iMovie). Here are some book trailers from Bloomsbury:

Captivate by Carrie Jones



Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (December 16)

This was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine. Basically, these are books that haven't been released yet, but that I can't wait for.

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

When Sophie Mercer turned thirteen, she discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-Gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father--an elusive European warlock--only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hecate Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward prodigium, a.k.a. witches, fae, and shapeshifters. By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard. Three powerful enemies who look like supermodels; a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock; a creepy, tag-along ghost; and a new roommate, who happens to be the most-hated person and only vampire on campus. Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her friend Jenna is the number one suspect. Meanwhile, Sophie has a more personal shock to grapple with. Not only is her father the head of the prodigium council, he's the most powerful warlock in the world, and Sophie is his heir. As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all prodigium, especially her.

Published by Hyperion
Release Date: March 2, 2010

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (December 15)

What is teaser tuesday?
It's a meme hosted by Should Be Reading and here are the
rules:
Grab your current read...

Open to a random page
Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on the page
Don't include spoilers

"I can tell right away things didn't go well. Jackson's
sitting on the sand looking forlorn."

- Breathing, page 77, by Cheryl Renee Herbsman


Monday, December 14, 2009

Book Review: Rampant by Diana Peterfreund

The sparkly, innocent creatures of lore are a myth. Real unicorns are venomous, man-eating monsters with huge fangs and razor-sharp horns. And they can only be killed by virgin descendants of Alexander the Great. Fortunately, unicorns have been extinct for a hundred and fifty years. Or not. Astrid Llewelyn has always scoffed at her eccentric mother's stories about killer unicorns. But when one of the monsters attacks her boyfriend in the woods — thereby ruining any chance of him taking her to prom — Astrid learns that unicorns are real and dangerous, and she has a family legacy to uphold. Her mother packs her off to Rome to train as a unicorn hunter at the ancient cloisters the hunters have used for centuries. However, at the cloisters, all is not what it seems. Outside, the unicorns wait to attack. And within, Astrid faces other, unexpected threats: from crumbling, bone-covered walls that vibrate with a terrible power to the hidden agendas of her fellow hunters to — perhaps most dangerously of all — her growing attraction to a handsome art student... and a relationship that could jeopardize everything.

When I first heard about this book, I had no idea that is was set in the present day, but it
was definitely the type of book I needed as a pick-me-up from the mid-semester drag. The story was unique (killer unicorns, enough said), and I'm now eagerly anticipating the sequel.

Plot: After Astrid is forced by her mother to move to the cloisters, in Italy, to train as a unicorn hunter, she's confronted with danger, romance, and questions about her heritage. Her new roommate, Cory, is hell bent on destroying all unicorns, and despite all of the lore, no one really seems to know what to expect. Of course, this all changes over the course of the book. We learn more about who the hunters were, why Cory has a particular hatred toward the creatures, and just how dangerous hunting can be. Astrid also has run-ins with a unicorn, Bucephalus, who has some historical ties to Alexander the Great (so, you can imagine how much I loved that aspect).

One thing that I love about Peterfreund is that her work is never predictable. The story never dragged, and I was on the edge of my seat.

Characters:Astrid's growth over the course of the book felt very real, and at various points in the story I sympathized with her. Overall, she was an intriguing character that I look forward to reading more about.

One of the many great things about Peterfruend's writing is how strong her female characters are. In this book, as well as her other series, the women break free from gender stereotypes. Astrid, Phil, and Amy (from her other series) portray strength, knowledge, and power. I could rave about this particular aspect of her writing all day, and it's a characteristic that I really appreciate in YA lit.

Rampant
By Diana Peterfreund
Published by HarperTeen
416 Pages
Rating: A-

Saturday, December 12, 2009

In My Mailbox (December 13)

In my mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren, who was inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Here are the books I got this week...


Well, I didn't get anything this week, and I'm working my way through my TBR (currently, I'm reading Shiver, by Maggie Stiefvater). Plus, most of my Christmas list is books, and bookstore gift cards.


What did you get this week?

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

200 Followers Contest

To say thank you for reaching 200 followers, I'm going to host a contest! Here are the rules:

There will be two winners (for now, based on response to the contest)

First Prize: 2 books from the following list, or 1 book and 1 pre-order (under 18 dollars, please)
Second Prize: 1 book from the list, or 1 pre-order (under 18 dollars)
EDIT*: Third Prize: 1 book from the list

Book List:
Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon
Absolutely, Maybe by Lisa Yee
Private by Kate Brian
Untouchable by Kate Brian
Revelation by Kate Brian
Inner Circle by Kate Brian
Confessions by Kate Brian
Invitation Only By Kate Brian
Mr. Darcy, Vampyr by Amanda Grange
Violet Wings (ARC) by Victoria Hanley
Sammy's Hill by Kristin Gore
Donut Days (ARC) by Lara Zielin
Dust of 100 Dogs by A.S. King
The Plague by Joanne Dahme
Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Edit*: The Mark by Jen Nadol (ARC)


Please fill out the form below, and commenting on this post will get you an extra entry. Don't forget to leave me your email address in the form, instead of the comments.

Open to the US and Canada Only

THE CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED. THANKS FOR ENTERING

Waiting on Wednesday (December 9)

This was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine. Basically, these are books that haven't been released yet, but that I can't wait for.

An invisible, uncrossable physical barrier encloses the Unified States. The Line is the part of the border that lopped off part of the country, dooming the inhabitants to an unknown fate when the enemy used a banned weapon. It’s said that bizarre creatures and superhumans live on the other side, in Away. Nobody except tough old Ms. Moore would ever live next to the Line.

Nobody but Rachel and her mother, who went to live there after Rachel’s dad died in the last war. It’s a safe, quiet life. Until Rachel finds a mysterious recorded message that can only have come from Away. The voice is asking for help.

Who sent the message? Why is her mother so protective? And to what lengths is Rachel willing to go in order to do what she thinks is right?

Published by Dial
Release Date: March 4, 2010

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (December 8)

What is teaser tuesday?
It's a meme hosted by Should Be Reading and here are the
rules:
Grab your current read...

Open to a random page
Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on the page
Don't include spoilers

"Megan. What an absolutely perfect name for Evil Announcement Girl. Megans always hate me."

-Need, page 25, by Carrie Jones

Sunday, December 6, 2009

200 Followers!

This morning I reached 200 followers, and I just wanted to say thank you! I'm currently thinking of a contest to celebrate, so check back soon for the details

Saturday, December 5, 2009

In My Mailbox (December 6)

In my mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren, who was inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Here are the books I got this week...

Betrayals (Strange Angels #2) by Lili St. Crow
She’s no angel . . .

Poor Dru Anderson. Her parents are long gone, her best friend is a werewolf, and she’s just learned that the blood flowing through her veins isn’t entirely human. (So what else is new?)

Now Dru is stuck at a secret New England School for other teens like her, and there’s a big problem— she’s the only girl in the place. A school full of cute boys wouldn’t be so bad, but Dru’s killer instinct says that one of them wants her dead. And with all eyes on her, discovering a traitor within the Order could mean a lot more than social suicide. . .

Can Dru survive long enough to find out who has betrayed her trust—and maybe even her heart?

I made my blog holiday friendly, but it took me way too long. I guess I need to learn html. My new header is edited from my friend Sam's photo of her Christmas tree.

What did you get in the mail this week?

Friday, December 4, 2009

100 Books to Read Before You Die

In Which A Girl Reads posted this list on wednesday, and I thought it would be fun to fill it out as well. It is originally based on Borders 100 favorite books.


Crossed out means I've read it, and books with stars I own but haven't read yet.


1.Jane Austen – Pride & Prejudice
2. Harper Lee – To Kill A Mockingbird
3. JRR Tolkien – Lord Of The Rings
4. Jodi Picoult – My Sister’s Keeper
5. Stephanie Meyer – Twilight Saga
6. JK Rowling – Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone
7. Audrey Niffenegger – The Time Traveler’s Wife
8. Markus Zusak – The Book Thief
9. George Orwell – 1984
10. Raymond E. Feist – Magician
11. Khaled Hosseini – A Thousand Splendid Suns
12. Paullina Simons – Bronze Horsemen
13. Gregory David Roberts – Shantaram
14. Margaret Mitchell – Gone With The Wind
15. Bryce Courtenay – Power of One
16. Dan Brown – The Da Vinci Code
17. Dan Brown – Angels & Demons
18. Paulo Coelho – The Alchemist
19. Charlotte Bronte – Jane Eyre
20. Tim Winton – Cloud Street
21. Khaled Hosseini – The Kite Runner
22. Emily Bronte – Wuthering Heights
23. Arthur Golden – Memoirs of Geisha
24. LM Montgomery – Anne Of Green Gables
25. Joseph Heller – Catch-22
26. Elizabeth Gilbert – Eat Pray Love
27. Niv Mass Market Bible With Bible Guide – International Bible Society Staff and International Bible Society
28. JRR Tolkien – The Hobbit
29. Yann Martel – Life of Pi*
30. AB Facey – Fortunate Life
31. Douglas Adams – The Hitch-hiker’s Guide To The Galaxy
32. Lewis Carroll – Alice In Wonderland & Through The Looking Glass
33. Diana Gabaldon – Cross Stitch
34. Rohinton Mistry – A Fine Balance
35. David Pelzar – A Child Called It
36. Li Cunxin – Mao’s Last Dancer
37. John Marsden – Tomorrow, When The War Began
38. Frank McCourt – Angela’s Ashes
39. Frank Herbert – Dune
40. JD Salinger – A Catcher In The Rye
41. F. Scott Fitzgerald – The Great Gatsby
42. Gabriel Garcia Marquez – One Hundred Years Of Solitude
43. Bryce Courtenay – April Fool’s Day
44. Ken Follet – Pillars Of The Earth
45. Patrick Suskind – Perfume: The Story Of A Murderer
46. Matthew Reilly – Ice Station
47. Carlos Ruiz Zafon – The Shadow Of The Wind
48. Stephen Hawking – A Brief History Of Time
49. Christopher Paolini – Eragon
50. Louisa May Alcott – Little Women*
51. Mitch Albom – Tuesdays With Morrie
52. Jane Austen – Persuasion
53. Alice Sebold – The Lovely Bones
54. Ian McEwan – Atonement
55. Leo Tolstory – Anna Karenina
56. George Orwell – Animal Farm
57. Anthony Burgess – A Clockwork Orange
58. Antoine de Saint ExupĂ©ry – The Little Prince
59. Roald Dahl – Charlie & The Chocolate Factory
60. CS Lewis – The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe
61. Gabriel Garcia Marquez – Love In The Time Of Cholera
62. Bill Bryson – A Short History Of Nearly Everything
63. Fyodor Dostoevsky – Crime And Punishment*
64. Anthony Bourke – Lion Called Christian
65. Arundhati Roy – The God Of Small Things
66. Paullina Simons – Tully
67. John Grisham – A Time To Kill
68. John Grogan – Marley & Me
69. Vikram Seth – A Suitable Boy
70. Alexandre Dumas – Count Of Monte Cristo
71. Neil Gaiman – American Gods
72. Cormac McCarthy – The Road
73. Aldous Huxley – Brave New World
74. Brendan Shanahan – In Turkey I Am Beautiful: Between Chaos And Madness In A Strange Land
75. Tim Winton – Breath
76. Bryce Courtenay – Jessica
77. Graeme Base – Animalia
78. Donna Tartt – The Secret History
79. Mario Puzo – The Godfather
80. Anne Rice – Interview With The Vampire
81. Steig Larrson – The Girl With A Dragon Tattoo
82. Stephen King – Stand
83. Helen Fielding – Bridget Jones’ Diary
84. Eckhart Tolle – New Earth
85. Matthew Reilly – Seven Ancient Wonders
86. Jung Chang – Wild Swans
87. Nicholas Sparks – The Notebook
88. Bret Easton Ellis – American Psycho
89. David Eddings – Belgariad Vol. 1: Pawn Of Prophecy; Queen Of Sorcery; Magician’s Gambit
90. Louis De Bernieres – Captain Corelli’s Mandolin
91. Melina Marchetta – Looking For Alibrandi
92. Celia Ahern – PS I Love You
93. John Irving – A Prayer For Owen Meany
94. Colleen McCullough – The Thorn Birds
95. John Kennedy Toole – A Confederacy Of Dunces
96. Terry Pratchett – Good Omens
97. Hunter S. Thompson – Fear & Loathing In Las Vegas
98. Joanne Harris – Chocolat
99. William Goldman – Princess Bride
100. Charles Dickens – Great Expectations


If my math is correct I've read 43 of the books on the list, thanks, in part, to actually reading the books that were assigned to me in high school. How many books on the list have you read? Do you think they left off any amazing books?

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Book Review: Scones and Sensibility by Lindsay Eland

Polly Madassa is convinced she was born for a more romantic time. A time when Elizabeth Bennet and Anne of Green Gables walked along the moors and beaches of the beautiful land, a time where a distinguished gentleman called upon a lady of quality and true love was born in the locked eyes of two young lovers. But alas, she was not. This, however, does not stop our young heroine from finding romance wherever she can conjure it up. So while Polly is burdened with a summer job of delivering baked goods from her parents bakery (how quaint!) to the people in her small beach town, she finds a way to force…um…encourage romance to blossom. She is determined to bring lovers, young and old, together…whether they want to be or not.

I've also decided I'm counting this one for the Everything Austen Challenge hosted by Stephanie's Written Word

I also wrote down my thoughts back when I first read the book, but somehow they aren't in my blog notebook (I try to stay organized...but apparently I'm not very good at it haha).

Plot: This book was cute, cute, cute! It actually seemed to be a bit more middle-grade than YA, but that shouldn't stop you from reading it. Polly is a hopeless romantic, and this trait has gotten her into quite a bit of trouble. After her parents give her the job of making deliveries for their bakery, Polly decides that it is up to her to help her lonely neighbors find romance. She thwarts any chance that her best friend's father has at connecting with a woman he meets online, sets up her neighbors, and causes her sister's break up (although in Polly's defense, her sister's boyfriend did seem like a jerk).

Characters: I wish I could have been more like Polly when I was younger. Unfortunately, I was more like her older sister...while baking I burned whatever I was cooking. Polly was adorable, and she had a lot of spunk. Polly has read various classic love stories, and due to this she's become a hopeless romantic. She ignored the advice that her parents gave her, especially when it involved staying out of other people's romantic affairs. In the end, Polly learns that love isn't something you can meddle with, and she's learned a bit more about herself in the process.

Scones and Sensibility
By Lindsay Eland
Published by EgmontUSA
256 Pages
Rating: B+

*This review is based on the ARC edition of the books, so some points in the book are subject to change

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (December 2)

This was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine. Basically, these are books that haven't been released yet, but that I can't wait for.


In a warm, funny tale of opposites attracting, a man persuades a sharp-tongued woman to pose as his fiancee in order to win his dream job, but his partner in pretense plans to make her role a reality.

Published by Bantam
Release Date: January 26, 2010

*This is a reissue

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (December 1)

What is teaser tuesday?
It's a meme hosted by Should Be Reading and here are the
rules:
Grab your current read...

Open to a random page
Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on the page
Don't include spoilers

"There are moments in life when you know things will never be the same. When you're called to the edge of adventure and given the chance to break free, uninhibited by your past, and claim the life you were meant to live. Relax. This was totally not that kind of day."

-The Cinderella Society, Page 1 (ARC edition), by Kay Cassidy


Happy December!

Monday, November 30, 2009

An Award & Nominations of My Own

It's been quite some time since I actually posted about blog awards, so I thought I should feature one that I got recently.
Here are the rules: Accept the award, post it on your blog together with the name of the person who has granted the award, and his or her blog link. Pass the award to 15 other blogs that you’ve newly discovered. Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.

So here are my nominations:
Choco at In Which a Girl Reads (she nominated me, but I recently discovered her blog, too)
Sheila at One Persons Journey Through a World of Books
Juju at Tales of Whimsey
Lea at YA Book Queen
Katie at Read What You Know
Laura at The Bookie Bunch (just discovered her blog this weekend)
Patty at Yay!Reads
Aubrey at My Pile of Books
Andrea at Buried in Books! (The blog design here is so cute!)
Jill at The O.W.L (a great site for Middle Grade & YA books)
Callie at Handle Like Hendrix
Ruby from Ruby Loves Adventure
Sandy from Pirate Penguin's Reads

Saturday, November 28, 2009

In My Mailbox (November 29)

In my mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren, who was inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Here are the books I got this week...

I actually didn't get any books this week! I did, however, buy Series 2 of Doctor Who.

Thursday, November 26, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving!


Happy Thanksgiving!

I'll be posting a review tomorrow, but today I'm spending time with my family, and attempting to keep the cats from running off with the turkey.

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (November 25)

This was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine. Basically, these are books that haven't been released yet, but that I can't wait for.

Forget-Her-Nots by Amy Brecount White

When someone leaves three mystery flowers outside her dorm door, Laurel thinks that maybe the Avondale School isn't so awful after all — until her own body starts to freak out. In the middle of her English presentation on the Victorian Language of Flowers, strange words pop into her head, and her body seems to tingle and hum. Impulsively, Laurel gives the love bouquet she made to demonstrate the language to her spinster English teacher. When that teacher unexpectedly and immediately finds romance, Laurel suspects that something — something magical — is up. With her new friend, Kate, she sets out to discover the origins and breadth of her powers by experimenting on herself and others. But she can’t seem to find any living experts in the field of flower powers to guide her. And her bouquets don't always do her bidding, especially when it comes to her own crush, Justin. Rumors about Laurel and her flowers fly across campus, and she's soon besieged by requests from girls — both friends and enemies — who want their lives magically transformed — just in time for prom.

Published by Greenwillow Books
Release Date: March 2, 2010

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (November 24)

What is teaser tuesday?
It's a meme hosted by Should Be Reading and here are the
rules:
Grab your current read...

Open to a random page
Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on the page
Don't include spoilers

"You see it don't you?" It was barely a question.
I wanted to go to her, but I was afraid to get closer, to touch the luminous haze."

The Mark (ARC edition),Page 29, by Jen Nadol

Saturday, November 21, 2009

In My Mailbox (November 21)

In my mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren, who was inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Here are the books I got this week...

I actually didn't get any books this week, but I forgot to mention one that I got a few weeks ago. I picked it up as part of the Everything Austen Challenge.

Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange

Mr. Darcy, Vampyre starts where Pride and Prejudice ends and introduces a dark family curse so perfectly that the result is a delightfully thrilling, spine-chilling, breathtaking read. A dark, poignant and visionary continuation of Austen's beloved story, this tale is full of danger, darkness and immortal love.

Friday, November 20, 2009

What's On My TBR Shelf


I thought I'd do a post where I discussed what exactly is in my TBR pile. Currently, it's taking up my entire desk...

Here's my list:
The Trouble with Magic by Madelyn Alt
The Cinderella Society by Kay Cassidy
Being Nikki by Meg Cabot
Ransom My Heart by Meg Cabot
Soulless by Gail Carriger
Accidentally Engaged by Mary Carter
Devil's Kiss by Sarwat Chadda
Fifteen Minutes of Shame by Lisa Daily
Fortune's Folly by Deva Fagan
The Guidance by Marley Gibson
Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange
Violet Wings by Victoria Hanley
Shoe Addicts Anonymous by Beth Harbison
North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley
The Cupcake Queen by Heather Hepler
Need by Carrie Jones
The Monster Variations by Daniel Kraus
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye by Victoria Laurie
Oracles of Delphi Keep by Victoria Laurie
What's A Ghoul to Do by Victoria Laurie
The Mark by Jen Nadol
Another Faust by Daniel and Dina Nayeri
Blue Moon by Alyson Noel
Geek Charming by Robin Palmer
The Dashwood Sisters' Secrets of Love by Rosie Rushton
Perfect You by Elizabeth Scott
Fire Study by Maria V Snyder
Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
The Cinderella Pact by Sarah Strohmeyer
Castration Celebration by Jake Wizner
Donut Days by Lara Zielin

So, you can see why I've been trying to stop myself from buying more books. I have read a few in the past week, so at least I'm making some progress. I'm also expecting to get a few done over Thanksgiving break...Thank goodness for vacations!

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Book Review: Psych Major Syndrome by Alicia Thompson

Patient Name: Leigh Nolan Age: 18 years Presenting Concerns: Leigh Nolan has just started her first year at Stiles College. She has decided to major in psychology (even though her parents would rather she study Tarot cards than Rorschach blots), despite reporting that she thinks, "Psychology is a load of crap." Patient has always been very good at helping her friends with their problems, but when it comes to solving her own...not so much. Patient has a tendency to overanalyze things, particularly when the opposite sex is involved. Like why doesn't Andrew, her boyfriend of over a year, ever invite her to spend the night? Or why can't she commit to taking the next step in their relationship? And why does his roommate Nathan dislike her so much? More importantly, why did Nathan have a starring role in a much-more-than-friendly dream? Aggravating factors include hyper-competitive fellow psych majors, a professor who's badly in need of her own psychoanalysis, and mentoring a middle-school-aged girl who thinks Patient is, in a word, nave. Preliminary treatment will include Introduction to Psychology, but may require more if she's going to answer these questions and make it through her freshman year. Diagnosis: Psych Major Syndrome

I actually picked this up after reading some reviews on Goodreads, and I really enjoyed it. Of course, I'm a psychology major who over analyzes everything.

Characters: Leigh (real name: Tuesday), is stuck in a dead-end relationship, analyzes everything that happens around her, and is feeling immense pressure to decide what she plans to do for her senior project. Of course, she's only a freshman. To make things worse, she ends up spending time with younger girls, as part of a mentoring program. While there wasn't a lot of school work mentioned (apparently Leigh can whip out an "A" paper hours after it's due), I did feel like the pressures of college were very present in the book. Over the course of the book, Leigh was able to actually learn from the people around her, particularly the girls that she spent time mentoring. The girls ended up having a reciprocal relationship, with Leigh getting as much advice as she was giving.

Plot: Overall, I really enjoyed the plot. It was fairly obvious how it was going to end, and I didn't really mind. In fact, without giving away any spoilers, that was exactly how I wanted it to end. There were a few times that I was screaming at Leigh in my head, but psych majors are infamous for ignoring what's right in front of them (I should know, haha). I also really enjoyed the humor throughout the book. I've noticed that some of the humor in YA books, and all genres, seems to forced. Maybe it's because slang is constantly being updated, and pop culture references get outdated just as quickly. This book never felt forced to me, which is always a plus. It was a bit fluffy toward the end, just as a warning.

As an added bonus, I got some review on some Intro to Psych theories

I can't wait to read more from Thompson!

Psych Major Syndrome
By Alicia Thomspon
Published by Hyperion
336 Pages
Rating: A-

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday (November 18)

This was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine. Basically, these are books that haven't been released yet, but that I can't wait for.

You Wish by Mandy Hubbard

Kayla McHenry’s sweet sixteenth sucks! Her dad left, her grades dropped, and her BFF is dating the boy Kayla’s secretly loved for years. Blowing out her candles, Kayla thinks: I wish my birthday wishes actually came true. Because they never freakin’ do.

Kayla wakes the next day to a life-sized, bright pink My Little Pony outside her window. Then a year’s supply of gumballs arrives. And a boy named Ken with a disturbing resemblance to the doll of same name stalks her. As the ghosts of Kayla’s wishes-past appear, they take her on a wild ride… but they MUST STOP. Because when she was 15? She wished Ben Mackenzie would kiss her.

And Ben is her best friend's boyfriend.




Published by Razorbill
Release Date: August 2010

I really enjoyed Prada and Prejudice, so I'll definitely be picking this one up

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (November 17)

What is teaser tuesday?
It's a meme hosted by Should Be Reading and here are the
rules:
Grab your current read...

Open to a random page
Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on the page
Don't include spoilers

"Then I met Nash's gaze, hoping panic didn't show in the probably swirling depts of mine. 'So...when you said you can't stop death, what you really meant is that you can't stop Tod?'"

-My Soul To Take, page 130, by Rachel Vincent

Saturday, November 14, 2009

In My Mailbox (November 15)

In my mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren, who was inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Here are the books I got this week...

These week I ended up getting a few books:

From the aweso
me Jen Nadol and Anna from Bloomsbury:

The Mark by Jen Nadol
(Arc/Published by Bloomsbury/Release Date: 01/19/10)
Cassandra Renfield has always seen the mark—a glow around certain people reminiscent of candlelight. But the one time she mentioned it, it was dismissed as a trick of the light. Until the day she watches a man awash in the mark die. After searching her memories, Cassie realizes she can see a person’s imminent death. Not how or where, only when: today.

Armed with a vague understanding of the light, Cassie begins to explore her “gift,” seeking those marked for death and probing the line between decision and destiny. Though she’s careful to hide her secret—even from her new philosophy-obsessed boyfriend—with each impending death comes the temptation to test fate. But so many questions remain. How does the mark work? Why is she the only one who sees it? And finally, the most important of all: If you know today is someone’s last, should you tell them?

From Kristi's site Books for Grabs:

The Guidance (Ghost Huntress 2) by Marley Gibson

Kendall and her ghost hunting team is the talk of Radisson, Georgia, but one person isn’t so pleased. Courtney Langdon doesn’t appreciate Kendall’s new popularity or her relationship with Jason, Courtney’s ex.

So Courtney begins dabbling in the paranormal world. At first it’s all a game to draw attention away from Kendall. But Courtney doesn’t know what she’s getting into—or what wants in her. This is one game that’s about to turn deadly serious.

Purchased:

Soulless by Gail Carriger

Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations. First, she has no soul. Second, she's a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire -- and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London's high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Book Review: Jane Austen Ruined My Life by Beth Pattillo

English professor Emma Grant has always done everything just the way her minister father told her she should -- a respectable marriage, a teaching job at a good college, and plans for the requisite two children. Life was prodigiously good, as her favorite author Jane Austen might say, until the day Emma finds her husband in bed with another woman. Suddenly, all her romantic notions a la Austen are exposed for the foolish dreams they are.

Denied tenure in the wake of the scandal and left penniless by the ensuing divorce, Emma packs up what few worldly possessions she has left and heads to England on a quest to find the missing letters of Jane Austen. Locating the elusive letters, however, isn't as straightforward as Emma hoped. The owner of the letters proves coy about her prize possessions, sending Emma on a series of Austen-related tasks that bring her closer and closer to the truth, but the sudden reappearance of Emma's first love makes everything more complicated.

In the end, Emma learns that doing the right thing has very little to do with other people's expectations and everything to do with her own beliefs. Laced with fictional excerpts from the missing letters, Jane Austen Ruined My Life is the story of a woman betrayed who uncovers the deeper meaning of loyalty. (From Goodreads)


For the Everything Austen Challenge hosted by Stephanie's Written Word

Ok, so I'm starting to admit to myself that maybe taking on the extra challenge for the Everything Austen Challenge may be a bit too much. Why, you ask? Well, the original number was six Austen-themed books/movies to read/watch. That means that this would technically be my final post in the challenge. I guess I just didn't anticipate the work I'm doing right now, and preparing for graduate school admissions. I'm sure I'll finish, though. I may be cramming the last few review in during December...

I'll just say that this book was cute. In all honesty, I think most Austen-themed books are meant to be this way. They're fluffy, and fun. What I liked about this one in particular, was that it spent some time focusing on Austen's past. One of the things that attracts me to Austen's books is the mystery behind who she was. There isn't all that much factual information on her life, and this book created an interesting theory behind why Jane remained unmarried.

I wish there had been a little more information about the past relationship between Adam and Emma. We know that they were once best friends, but I would have liked to have seen more. I wanted to know more about the nature of their friendship. I also wish that Emma could have fought against her sleazy ex-husband. If I had been in her situation (cheating husband, grad student who falsely accuses me of plagiarizing her paper) then I wouldn't run off to England. Although, I might blame Austen for giving me false expectations about love, like Emma did.

Overall, it was light and fluffy. I just wish that Emma had been a stronger main character.

Jane Austen Ruined My Life
By Beth Pattillo
Published by GuidepostsBooks
320 Pages (Paperback)
Rating: B-

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Blog Disclaimer

So, the FTC has basically done some wonky things, and now we're supposed to have blog disclaimers?

I'll start off by saying that I don't make money posting my reviews (and I personally think that would take the fun out of it). I honestly review all books I read, although I try to maintain some professionalism while writing negative reviews.

As a student who makes very (very, very) little money, I don't really have much for the gov't to take. Nonetheless, I do acknowledge where I got my books from (library, store, trade, etc).

Waiting on Wednesday (November 11)

This was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine. Basically, these are books that haven't been released yet, but that I can't wait for.

The Cinderella Society by Kay Cassidy
(I love the cover!)

When the Prom Queen becomes your fairy godmother…

Sixteen year old outsider, Jess Parker, gets the chance of a lifetime: an invitation to join a secret society of popular girls dedicated to defeating the mean girls of the world. The Cinderella Society guides all new recruits through its top secret ultimate life makeover. It’s all part of preparing them to face down the Wickeds and win. Determined not to let the Cindys down, Jess dives in with a passion. Finally, a chance to belong and show the world what she’s made of.

… be careful what you wish for.

Jess’s transformation wins her the heart of her dream crush and a shot at uber-popularity. Until the Wickeds–led by Jess’s arch enemy–begin targeting innocent girls in their war against the Cindys, and Jess discovers the real force behind her exclusive society. It’s a high stakes battle of good vs. evil, and the Cindys in power need Jess on special assignment. When the mission threatens to destroy her dream life come true, Jess is forced to choose between living a fairy tale and honoring the Sisterhood… and herself.

What’s a girl to do when the glass slipper fits, but she doesn’t want to wear it anymore?

Published by EgmontUSA
Release Date: April 13, 2010

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Teaser Tuesday (November 10)

What is teaser tuesday? It's a meme hosted by Should Be Reading and here are the rules:
Grab your current read...

Open to a random page
Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on the pag
e
Don't include spoilers

"I was covered in mud and blood, and Grace was getting stitches in her forehead by Gordian technicians in the room next door. 'I want to come home.'"

Rampant, page 186, by Diana Peterfreund

Monday, November 9, 2009

Privacy Policy (and other blog-related info)

After seeing a few posts pop up (at The Story Siren and Pirate Penguin's Reads) about privacy policies I figured I should probably post one, too. While I don't know if other people feel this way, I've noticed a marked increase in spam email over the past few months (around 100 a day, on average).

So, I've decided that the best way to go about contests is to now try contest forms. I've already participated in a few contests that use these forms, and, in my opinion, they're a lot easier to use for everyone. Readers don't have to tally up points, and the forms get sent to the blog owner immediately.

The only personal information that I require is an email address and the winners mailing address (both of which I will delete once the contest has been completed).

If a contest winner is 13 years old or less, they'll have to have parental permission. This means that parent will have to communicate with me so I can get the address and written permission.

Saturday, November 7, 2009

In My Mailbox (November 8)

In my mailbox was created by Kristi of The Story Siren, who was inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Here are the books I got this week...

Ok, so I did buy a book this week. I know, shame on me.

Need by Carrie Jones

Zara collects phobias the way other high school girls collect lipsticks. Little wonder, since life’s been pretty rough so far. Her father left, her stepfather just died, and her mother’s pretty much checked out. Now Zara’s living with her grandmother in sleepy, cold Maine so that she stays “safe.” Zara doesn’t think she’s in danger; she thinks her mother can’t deal.

Wrong. Turns out that guy she sees everywhere, the one leaving trails of gold glitter, isn’t a figment of her imagination. He’s a pixie—and not the cute, lovable kind with wings. He’s the kind who has dreadful, uncontrollable needs. And he’s trailing Zara.

What did you get this week?

This is also my 150th post!! I actually just realized it, and it's inspired me to actually schedule some posts.

Copyright ©2009-2013 Cornucopia of Reviews. All Rights Reserved.